365 Challenge · Lolita Blog Carnival

Lolita Blog Carnival & 365 Lifestyle Lolita Challenge START!

11245481_1428395270801465_9023505736571699874_n

 

Happy New Years everyone!

One of my goals for the new year was to start a new blog! In order to keep things interesting and avoid writer’s block in between updates and adventures, I’ve decided to participate in both the Lolita Blog Carnival and 365 Lifestyle Lolita Challenge. After today I plan for these both to be a weekly segment, so for the 365 challenge I’ll collect all of my weekly entries into one post! Unfortunately this blog is too new to participate in the Lolita Blog Carnival, so until my 3 months of waiting are up, I’ll be using older prompts that seem interesting to me.
So, without further ado, let’s start!
bow-handmade-by-me

365 Lifestyle Lolita Challenge

1909972_1510662935897177_6621584688353163969_n
Last year I turned 27, and as such I decided that it was finally time to leave sweet lolita behind and move into classic. Or… something like that. What ended up happening was more a purging of prints that I felt were too childish to keep, and an influx of sweet prints that had a less in-your-face palette and a more elegant design. Online I’ve seen the new style called “classic-sweet” but personally I feel like this term isn’t quite right for my wardrobes newest iteration, since the prints and silhouettes from Angelic Pretty don’t really suit the classic aesthetic.

That said I do have a few goals for my 2016 wardrobe!

pink-heart Goal 1: Declutter my wardrobe!

I think one of the main problems that most lolitas who have been active in the fashion face is a case of wardrobe clutter. It can be really hard to clean out your wardrobe when you aren’t quite sure it is time to move on, or the prices for the items you once loved are higher or lower than you expected. Is it just a case of boredom, or wandering eyes? What about if you change your mind and want the item back? Or, what if the price has dropped or increased? All of these things make it difficult to sell pieces, particularly when they used to be a favorite item. The value you have attached to the piece for sentimental reasons might not match the market price – making it even more difficult to part with!

To make things easier, I have a plan of attack. I’m going to allow myself 2-3 sentimental items from when I first started wearing lolita. I already know exactly which ones these are, because they were the first dresses I ever purchased. These items won’t sell for much, but have quite a bit of sentimental value. After these items, anything that I haven’t considered coordinating in over a year will need to go – regardless of its current market value. I feel like this is a better way to move things out – since there are some items I haven’t worn in awhile, but that I know I would like to use again in the future. Finally anything that doesn’t fit needs to be sent away for alterations, or sold, end of story.

pink-heart Goal 2: Only purchase main items that I love!

When I started wearing lolita, Angelic Pretty had only one main print release each month. This made it really easy to keep up with the newest looks and fashions, and it also meant it was easy to keep my own wardrobe in check! These days there is literally a new AP release every weekend, and with the special sets and made to order items, it is really easy to let things just get out of control! In order to achieve this goal, I’m planning to compare any new releases that I want to older pieces I have, and prioritize my spending by considering each seasons releases, instead of just going along week-by-week.

pink-heart Goal 3: Collect more jewelry, accessories, and blouses!

A few years ago, this was my biggest lolita goal, but I feel like this part of my wardrobe needs a serious overhaul. Most of my accessories are too childish to wear with my current wardrobe, and many of the blouses I own feel dated. I tend to use the same 3-4 blouses, headbows, and jewelry items, instead of mixing it up. The fix: Get rid of all these out-dated items, and purchase items with a more elegant and princess-y feel.

pink-heart Goal 4: Purchase more items acceptable for casual wear!

Wearing lolita daily is no longer a practical pursuit for me, but that doesn’t mean that I want to quit!  Instead, I need to focus on getting more casual wear that can be worn with a comfortable cardigan and loafers, instead of coordinates that require four head accessories, tea parties, and a themed purse to feel complete.

pink-heart Goal 5: Design some cute sleepwear!

Ever since I started wearing lolita I’ve always wanted some cute roomwear/sleepwear for around the house. While I like the bloomers + tee-shirt combo, I’d really like to up my at-home style by creating a cute line of cutsews, printed bloomers, and night gowns that don’t look like they came from grandmas house.

pink-heart Goal 6: Try items from other brands!

After my last sales post I noticed that I own very few items from BTSSB, Metamorphose, Haenuli, or other sweet lolita brands. One of my more difficult goals will be to pick up a few items from each of these brands – at least one casual piece and one OTT piece, so that I can wear them to brand tea parties and other social events. Because I don’t purchase from these brands as regularly as I used to, this is going to be a bit of a challenge, since the aesthetic from these brands doesn’t exactly match my current wardrobe!

bow-handmade-by-me

Well, that’s that! Do you have any wardrobe goals that you’d like to share? If so, post in the comments below, or link to your blogpost!

Thanks for reading!
– Rosie

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Lolita Blog Carnival & 365 Lifestyle Lolita Challenge START!

  1. My wardrobe goals for this year are to buy items that will actually fit me. Either already in my size or custom sized items. I need to stop buying things on a whim. And I need to purchase more blouses and accessories to coordinate with my current JSKs and skirts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

