Cute Food · Travel Guides

Cute Food Report: Milky Way Cafe Ikebukuro!

 

So! Today’s post is about the Milky Way Cafe in Ikebukuro! Unlike some of my other cute food reviews, this will probably be more of a photopost than a full review! Why? Because I’ve only had one thing here, and while it was pretty good this cafe isn’t quite like some of the other theme cafes I’ve visited! stardust-moon-by-me star-by-me dust-by-me

bow-handmade-by-me

Atmosphere

Rating: stardust-moon-by-mestardust-moon-by-mestardust-moon-by-me

So, the Milky Way cafe is a cute star themed cafe. They offer sandwiches and shakes, but their main draw is their adorable star-themed sweets. Outside of the cafe they have several sweets boxes like this one, displaying all sorts of options. The prices are also pretty reasonable, and I don’t believe that they have a minimum order like most other cafes (Alice, Purin & Kawaii Monster, I’m looking at you.)

image

Now, the reason for this is pretty simple I think – most people who come to this cafe don’t appear to be tourists just looking for a nice photo. Instead, most of the visitors that I’ve noticed on the occasions I’ve went appear to be Japanese, and everyone was coming for the specific reason of ordering food and enjoying time with their friends.

image

The cafe itself is pretty relaxed and quite, and most of all, it is pretty ordinary. Outside of the cute place mats, and the stars on the ceiling, there isn’t a lot of themed decor happening here. Nothing wrong with that, but I wouldn’t go all out planning a coordinate to take photos here.

bow-handmade-by-me

Food

Rating: stardust-moon-by-mestardust-moon-by-mestardust-moon-by-me

image

I’ve only ever gotten this specific sweet when I’ve gone. From what I heard from other friends who went with me, the fries and sandwiches are good, but nothing to write home about. Personally, I really enjoyed this sundae. It has a piece of cake, cookies, fruit and whipped cream all piled ontop of some delicious icecream. When the staff brings it over, it is placed in a cup filled with water, and steam comes out of the bottom. Pretty cute and cool, and definitely fits the star theme!

bow-handmade-by-me

Atmosphere

Rating: stardust-moon-by-mestardust-moon-by-mestardust-moon-by-me

 

Both times I ate here, I’d just come from a long day of hauling bags around Sunshine City and Closet Child, so it was a nice break. The venue itself looks a bit old, and could use some updating, but it was also good to be somewhere quiet without a lot of noisy tourists. I like the sweets, I like the staff, and I love the view of the plaza below. It is definitely worth a stop, but I wouldn’t come looking for an over the top experience like Pom Pom Purin or Alice Cafe.

Happy Munching!
Rosie

Leave a Reply

