Shopping · Updates

This week (and last month…) in Angelic Pretty: Baked Sweets Parade

pop (1).jpg

Last month I was a bit busy, and it seemed like quite a few of the releases were either re-releases (Luminous Sanctuary & Shadow Dream Carnival) or non-print items that didn’t really peak my attention. Honestly, this works out fine for me since I didn’t feel desperate to get my paws on anything specific – but there is one print I want to talk a bit about (seeing that it’s being released again tomorrow at AP USA!) and that is Angelic Pretty’s new Baked Sweets Parade!

 

12472689_10208338642684840_8087172349833945507_n

When this series was announced last year, particularly when the images of the mint colorway came out, I was absolutely in love! Look at how adorable Kimura U looks in the OP! The mint is a perfect mix of blue and green! Those dounts are precious!

02161327_56c2a53724fdb

But then, Angelic Pretty released the cuts and colorways, and I began to feel a bit let-down. To begin with, they decided to make this a JSK cut without detachable straps. I have to absolutely adore a print in order to purchase an item like this, because it means that I’ll have to alter the item in order for it to fit me.bow-handmade-by-me

And then, the other issue that I have is the size and styling of the donuts on the JSK cut. I feel like on the OP, the donuts look cute and proportionate, but with the detailing around the bust on the JSK, suddenly it feels a bit cluttered? And the pink/beige colorways aren’t nearly as cute as they were for Melty Cream Donuts! I’m reminded quite a bit of the older ETC donut dress. which never really struck my fancy.

That being said, I’m still quite fond of the series, and I have the feeling that in person it will be quite lovely. My favorites are the OP in Mint or Yellow, but if I decide to buy something it will have to be a JSK. I’m still a bit torn about purchasing  due to the pesky strap situation, but we’ll see what tomorrow brings!

Good Luck and Happy Shopping!
– Rosie Darling

 

Leave a Reply

